Dharma Momma

I’m a Buddhist and a Mother. This is what I do.

Recipe of the Week #1 September 24, 2008

Filed under: health,recipe — mandora @ 7:52 pm

I need to make this blog cooler and more full of ‘stuff’… my other blog was cool and full of stuff but it just wasn’t what I ‘wanted’ in a blog.  It wasn’t fulfilling me.  I LURVE the layout and design of this one so much… I’m excited to post everytime I come here because I love the cool little rounded boxes that each and every post is encapsulated in.  Problem is, I can’t get any of my usual ‘extras’ to work because wordpress is the devil.

On that note, I’m going to start something new.  Recipes!  Anyone who knows me knows how important healthy awesome food is in my life.  It’s sort of a passion – to create really good for me food that tastes like it ISN’T good for me.  And if I can do that with organic, wholesome, local foods, all the better.  I try to eat vegan whenever I can, and since the rest of my family (with the exception of my daughter) are all dedicated and proud carnivores, it can be a challenge finding vegan friendly items that they’ll also eat.  I’ve totally done it with THIS recipe though.  I originally was trying to find things that would be high in protein and other good things for pregnant ladies.  But aside from being super high in protein and omega-3, these bars are DELICIOUS.  I substituted agave nectar for the rice syrup, so I halved the amount, and it turned out great.  I urge you, even if you aren’t a vegan, TRY THIS recipe.  It’s not like, crazy and full of tofu or lentils…you wouldn’t even KNOW they’re good for you.  😉

Omega Bars

Full of brain food Omega 3.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup brown rice syrup
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup almond butter (or 1/2 cup more peanut butter + 3/4 cup chopped almonds)
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 1/2 cup ground flax seed (flaxseed meal)
  • 1/2 cup sesame seeds
  • 3 cups brown rice crispies

Directions

Heat syrup, canola oil, and nut butters over medium heat until soft and smooth. Stir in nuts, seeds, and rice cereal. Press into a prepared 9 x 9 pan.

Cut into 16 pieces and chill.

These bars have 1.8 grams of Omega 3 per serving and 7.8 grams of protein. Can cut into 8 pieces and have over 3 grams per serving!

 

Leave a Reply

